Book Review: Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Double Down (and why the series works for everyone)

So Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Double Down is the next in the series of comedy children’s books by Jeff Kinney. Now these might seem like the kind of books that only kids would like with their illustrations and short amount of written storytelling. I however would disagree.

So I’ve been reading this series of books for 8 years now (since I was 10) and I haven’t given up on them as I’ve grown older for the simple reason that I still find them funny. For me enough of the jokes still work that for the short amount of time it takes to read one of the books a lot of laughs are packed in.

In this edition Greg deals with the idea that his life is being filmed, having to do chores and Halloween. What I like about the books is that they are funny in a way that everyone can enjoy but also portray the kind of thoughts and problems young people do face during growing up while not having to rely on totally implausible situations or infeasible characters.

My favourite characters in the book though, are the parents. Most people could see at least to some level parts of Greg’s parents in their own and their characters tend to lead to what are almost always the best lines in the book.

When reading a children’s book you have to read it as just that though, a book for children. Now Diary of a Wimpy Kid works across multiple generations but I do remember laughing at every single gag in it when I was a kid and there are times when I do think, yeah, when I was 10 I would have loved that but that is what is a big part of the books’ appeal. For 10 year olds, the target audience, I think it is one of the funniest and most relatable series around while really not a challenging read so pretty much any skill level could read it.

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

